Skip to content ↓


The Board of Governors is made up of representatives from the community, parents and from College staff. They work very closely with the Principal, Jan Atkinson, and her senior leadership team to ensure that students receive a quality education in a safe and welcoming environment.

Whatever course or programme that your daughter/son undertakes at the College, we want to be sure that it is a quality experience with successful outcomes.

The Board of Governors would like to encourage you to take an active part in your child's education by ensuring that attendance is good, there is a commitment to study and that you attend parents evenings and College events.

We are sure that your experience with the College will be a positive one.

Please contact Sue Young, should you wish to get in contact with or require any further information from the Board of Governors.

Governor Documents

Terms of Reference

ink Governors

Governing Body Structure 2020-21 


Mother A van den Hof (appointed 11 September 2019)  

Barbara Barwick (re-appointed 8 July 2020)          

Karen Hunter (re-appointed 8 July 2020)               

Helen Laker (re-appointed 8 July 2020)  

Tomris Ibrahim (appointed on 9 Dec 2020)   

Barbara Barwick (resigned 9 July 2021) 



Fred Gichuhi (appointed 9 Dec 2020)

Jacqueline Gray Chair from 8 July 2020    

Janet Atkinson (Accounting officer)         

Valliyappan Balaguru (appointed 5 June 2019)    

Felix Beck (re-appointed 8 July 2020)      

Jacqueline Gray (appointed 1 September 2019)          

Mary Karooma-Brooker (appointed 01 January 2018)      

Susan Hammond (appointed 5 June 2019)            

Neil Jones (appointed 01 December 2019)            

Peter Smyth (appointed 20 September 2017)             

Dominic Scarlett (appointed 31st March 2021)          


Senior Management Team          

Janet Atkinson  Principal and CEO

Geoff Osborne  - Vice Principal

Sophie Farmer   - Assistant Principal

Alex Rolfe            - Assistant Principal

Natalie Osborne               - Assistant Principal

Andrea Knight   - Assistant Principal

Mary Obemeasor            - Finance Director (Appointed 1 July 2019)

Jacqueline Takpimivbiomo           - Assistant Principal (Appointed 24 August 2020)



Quality, Standards & Personal, Development, Behaviour & Welfare Committee :
Mike Hage (Chair), Jan Atkinson, Felix Beck, Mary Karooma-Brooker, Peter Smyth, Fred Gichuhi

Finance, HR & General Purposes Committee:
Neil Jones (Chair), Appan Balaguru, Jan Atkinson, Peter Smyth, Dominic Scarlett

Audit & Risk Committee:
Sue Hammond (Chair), Mary Karooma-Brooker, Janet Atkinson, Fred Gichuhi, Jackie Gray




Governors Term Length

Governors are expected to serve a four year term, Governors are to resign before the full four year term if they so choose, Governors are also free to run for another term.

Governor Selection

Governors are selected in accordance with DFE Academy Governance guidance. This includes appointment, peer recommendation, application or appointment via vote. Further information can be found in the terms of reference attachment below.

Governor Secure Area

Governors have access to a secure environment hosted our VLE. 

You can find a copy of the Governance Handbook below as a downloadable attachment or by clicking this link.